Applying for Marriage License and Receipt of Official Documents
Before the wedding:
Laws regarding marriage licenses vary by state, but an Indiana marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued, and couples may be married as early as the same day. In order to apply for a marriage license in Lake County, the Clerk's office requires the following:
- Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
- Both applicants must be present at the time of application with a valid driver's license or a state identification card, for proof of residency, identity, and date of birth.
- If either person has been divorced within 1 (one) year prior to application, that person must have a certified copy of the divorce decree, signed and dated, with a Judge's signature.
- If at least one of the applicants is a resident of Lake County, the fee is $18.00, payable in cash only.
- If neither applicant is an Indiana resident, the fee is $60, payable in cash only. The subsequent wedding must take place in Lake County, Indiana.
- If both applicants are Indiana residents, but live outside of Lake County, they must go to the county in which they live.
- Once the license is obtained, Indiana residents may be married anywhere in the state of Indiana. The records will be recorded in whatever county you applied in.
- If the couple is being married in another state, they must go to that state, and follow that state's requirements.
- The license is valid for 60 days, and can be used the same day it is applied for. There is no waiting period.
- Lake County is now accepting on line applications, the couple will complete form on line at http://courts.in.gov/marriage. The couple will arrive at the clerk's office and inform the staff that the form was completed on line. The record will be searched in Incite and completed by a deputy clerk.
To start the online application for your Indiana marriage license, click here:
If Rev Doug is performing your wedding ceremony in Illinois or Michigan, please email the office for instructions on obtaining your marriage license.
After the wedding:
After your wedding ceremony, Rev Doug will sign your marriage license to make your union legal. We immediately mail this document to the county clerk's office where you applied for it. The county government office will process your paperwork, and your certified copy should be ready for you to pickup 1-2 weeks after your wedding date. The original certified marriage license with the raised state seal is the only valid document for making legal name changes (Social security card, driver's license, etc). When you go pick up this document, make sure to request the appropriate number of copies so that you can complete any legal changes you plan to make.